Photo Access - required
Aura requires access to your photo library for the app to function and to choose photos for your Aura frame. Any photos that you upload to your frame are always stored securely on your device, on Aura’s cloud servers, and on your Aura frame. They are never shared with any third parties, or with other Aura users without your permission.
Additionally, by default Aura may collect and upload so-called ‘metadata’ about your photo library to the cloud to enable Smart Suggestions which allows us to recommend photos you may want to add to your frame. These are just suggestions and you have the option to ignore the suggestions.
|Note: although you have to grant the app permission to access ALL photos, other members of a frame can ONLY see those photos (in their Aura App) that you selected and uploaded to the frame. They will NOT be able to see your photo library.|
Disabling Smart Suggestions
While photo access is always required, you may opt to disable Smart Suggestions for your Aura account. When Smart Suggestions are switched off, Aura will only consider metadata from those photos that you added to your frame. You can deny automatic metadata uploading during account setup, or you may switch it off under account settings at any time by turning Smart Suggestions off.
Security & Privacy
Aura uploads and stores your photos in a secure cloud database, powered by Amazon Web Services (AWS). Aura uses the AES-256 advanced encryption standard, which is the industry standard.
Your photos will also be stored locally on your frame, and your frame will sync with our cloud database regularly to ensure photos you add or remove from your frame in the app are removed or added to the frame.
Note: If you would like to delete your Aura account, please contact Aura Customer Care.